The Symptom

5 Jul

Have you seen the GE money advertisement with the guy juggling balls walking down the street? The balls disappear and the tag line is “GE making life easier”? I mean wow. I wish I had so much debt that I could get a GE money debt consolidation loan. Even if I didn’t have debt I’m sure my life would be better if I got a debt consolidation loan! I tried to find it on youtube to put up here but I guess GE doesn’t want you to watch it more than once. It’s that portrayal of debt consolidation that irritates me the most. It’s so fun and happy. He’s a professional guy handling his affairs responsibly. It was so jolly and care free I almost thought it was a tampon ad. Just as you can’t sell tampons by showing a woman in trackpants you can’t sell finance products by showing someone not being able to fund their retirement. I guess that would be how I would want to view myself if I had lots of debts. However it ain’t the case and portraying images like this in the public arena makes have debt seem like no big deal and having your period as fun. Both of which are lies. Debt consolidation should be seen like ZOVIRAX shure it’ll make the herpes go away but it doesn’t cure it.

Leave a Reply

